Organicallygrowngroup's Blog


Happy Birthday, Jeff Bezos

Happy birthday to Jeff Bezos, founder of Amazon.

Sometime around 1994, my dad read a story about Jeff and Amazon in a Miami newspaper. My parents lived in North Miami Beach, near where Bezos attended high school. I phoned Jeff, trying to sell him some Star Wars lobby cards that my former company Zanart had manufactured. He thanked me for the phone call, but told me that he was just selling books. I said, “But  Jeff, you have something really good going here, and I think you can sell more than just books.” He said that he agreed, and that he wanted to branch out into other products, but for the time being, he needed to focus on books. He thanked me for the phone call and my good wishes, and asked me to please stay in touch.

When the dot com revolution imploded, Jeff stayed the course and persevered, because he had an important service to offer the world. Many Wall Street folk watched to see if Amazon could make a profit.

Needless to say, Jeff and Amazon are now selling more than just books! They are even selling our Organically Grown’s products (in the US, UK, Germany, France, and soon Japan)…as well as a few other companies’ products. So happy birthday Jeff, and keep on rocking through the free world.

BY BOB STEIN, CO-FOUNDER OF ORGANICALLY GROWN

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

